Former Viking Moss elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Moss can be joined within the corridor by former gamers Ray Lewis, Terrell Owens, Brian Urlacher, Brian Dawkins, Jerry Kramer and Robert Brazile, and former government Bobby Beathard.

The corridor of fame class was introduced at NFL Honors on the College of Minnesota’s Northrop Auditorium.

“It was simply tears of pleasure,” Moss stated of creating it. “Once you put your coronary heart and soul into this recreation, to be rewarded with that gold jacket, I am simply speechless.”

Moss is the third large receiver to make the corridor of fame in his first yr of eligibility. The primary two have been Steve Largent and Jerry Rice.

“It hasn’t actually dawned on me that I am the third first poll,” Moss stated.

Moss performed for the Vikings from 1998-2004 and in 2010. He ranks fourth in NFL historical past with 157 touchdowns.

For the Vikings, Moss had 587 of his 982 profession receptions and 9,316 of his 15,292 profession yards. He additionally performed with Oakland, New England, Tennessee and San Francisco, his last recreation being a 34-31 49ers loss to Baltimore in Tremendous Bowl XLVII in February 2013.

Moss tried to maintain his thoughts off the corridor of fame voting earlier than he was notified Saturday.

“I simply needed to remain even keel, no ups and downs,” Moss stated. “I knew it might be an extended day.”

Moss paid tribute for his former Vikings coach Dennis Inexperienced, who died in 2016. Inexperienced had pushed to draft Moss in 1998 after he had some off-the-area points.

“The one factor I all the time come again to is that if coach Inexperienced had by no means made that decision, I’m wondering if I might have been capable of showcase my God-given capability,” Moss stated. “It might really feel much more higher for me if (Inexperienced) have been right here.”

Moss is the primary former Vikings participant elected to the Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame since middle Mick Tingelhoff in 2015.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *