Bjornsens, Randall part of good day for US skiers

Three Anchorage skiers cracked the highest 20 in Sunday’s World Cup skiathlon in Lillehammer, Norway.

Sadie Bjornsen, who has made two podium appearances in dash races within the first two weeks of the season, posted a profession-greatest end within the 15-kilometer skiathlon by putting tenth to steer the Alaskans.

Kikkan Randall and Erik Bjornsen each registered their greatest outcomes of the season, with Randall putting sixteenth within the ladies’s race and Bjornsen – Sadie’s brother – ending twentieth within the males’s 20-Okay race.

Bjornsen and Randall have been amongst 4 American ladies who scored World Cup factors with prime-30 finishes to proceed a robust begin for the U.S. Ski Group’s ladies’s squad.

Jessie Diggins of Minnesota led the best way in fifth place, and Rosie Brennan – a member of the Alaska Pacific College ski workforce together with Randall and the Bjornsens – was twenty ninth. One other APU skier, Chelsea Holmes, completed thirty eighth.

Erik Bjornsen was the quickest American man, adopted by APU’s Scott Patterson in thirty sixth place.

“As soon as once more it was one other nice day for my teammates,” Sadie Bjornsen stated by e mail. “The most important WOW of the day was my brother, putting twentieth on this very robust area of racers right here in Norway, on one of many hardest programs on the circuit.

“… And once more, one other nice day for the American women too! I attempted to stick with Jessie through the basic part immediately, however was simply so blown away by how robust she was climbing these hills, and ultimately, I could not sustain.”

The skiathlon began with a basic leg (7.5 kilometers for the ladies, 10K for the lads) and completed with a freestyle leg of the identical distances.

Randall, a 4-time Olympian, stated she felt “a lot stronger” within the skate leg than the basic leg.

“Underlying health feels robust however nonetheless looking for my full race gear,” she stated by e mail. “Actually inspiring to see my teammates racing up there within the entrance.”

Victories went to Charlotte Kalla of Sweden and Johannes Klaebo of Norway.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *