American Association baseball realigns divisions

The American Affiliation’s three divisions shall be pared to 2, with the St. Paul Saints remaining within the North Division with Fargo-Moorhead, Sioux Falls and defending league champion Winnipeg. Gary and a brand new workforce, the Chicago Canine, additionally will be a part of the North.

The Central has been dissolved, so Lincoln, Kansas Metropolis, and Sioux Metropolis will be a part of Cleburne, Texas and Wichita within the South Division. The Salina Stockade folded on the finish of final season.

As a result of every division has six groups, groups will play inter-division rivals an equal variety of occasions. The highest two groups from every division will meet in a greatest-of-5 semifinal, adopted by a 5-recreation championship spherical.

“Shifting to a two-division format allows the league to create a extra equal schedule, with groups enjoying divisional rivals the identical variety of occasions,” American Affiliation commissioner Miles Wolff stated in a press launch. “We anticipate larger competitors and stability from the brand new setup.”

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *